Steps to Enroll for High School Students

*If you are an F-1 international student enrolled in high school you are not eligible to be enrolled at Diablo Valley College at the same time. If you would like to transfer from your high school to DVC, please visit our steps to enroll for international students.

Follow these steps if you will be enrolled in high school and Diablo Valley College at the same time.  

Step one: apply

Complete an online application at CCCApply.

Within 24 business hours, you will be emailed your new DVC student ID number, registration date, important student account information, and a link to the online orientation. This information will be sent to the email address you provided on your application.


Step two: submit a special admission recommendation form

All high school students must submit the special admission recommendation form, also called a concurrent enrollment form.

The form must be:

  • submitted each term.
  • filled out by the high school principal or designee and list the courses the student wishes to take.
  • signed by the student, parent, and high school principal or designee.
  • submitted online to Admissions and Records.

Signed forms with no courses listed will not be accepted by the Admissions and Records Office. You can only enroll in the course(s) listed on the form.

 

FERPA-Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act

FERPA mandates that while minor high school students attend college, they are considered regular college students, and the privacy of their educational records is protected. Only the student has a right to their academic record. We will not release student information to parents without the prior written consent of the student.

 

Prepare to enroll:

  1. You have a current application on file with DVC. If you previously completed courses at DVC, LMC or CCC, but have not taken a class for one year or more, you will need to begin at step one, and reapply for admission. You will keep the same student ID number and your transcripts will show all classes you've previously taken within the college district. 
  2. You have cleared any applicable prerequisites for the class:
    1. Refer to the catalog to check if the class you want has a prerequisite.
    2. If the class DOES have a prerequisite you may apply for clearance here. You should do this BEFORE registration starts as it may take 2-3 business days for review.
  3. Review the steps below which vary by grade level.

Please be aware:

You will NOT be registered for the class when you submit the form. By submitting the form, you will be given permission to register for the course online provided all signatures are received, the course is open, and you meet any prerequisites. Registration is on or after the date that corresponds to your grade level. You must complete registration through InSite. Please view the information below for instructions.

Registration dates are assigned after a form has been submitted that has been signed by the student, parent AND high school, and processed by Admissions and Records. Dates are assigned every Thursday for students in the 11th and 12th grades if the form was completed on or before that day. Registration dates for students below the 11th grade will be assigned by the weekend before classes begin. 

Registration steps if you are going into the...

Registration occurs on the first day of the class. 

  • Contact the instructor of the class ahead of time to let the instructor know that you are interested in enrolling in the course. If the instructor has space, they will authorize you to add the class and they will need your student ID#. The instructor is the only one who can authorize a student to add once it begins. Please refer to the schedule of classes and the directory if you need to locate contact information.
  • Make sure that you know your college student ID# and are able to login to InSite portal.
  • Submit your Special Admissions form online. See options below.
  • Before the first day of the class, log in to the InSite portal and add the class to your student plan. For steps to add a class to your student plan go to our how do I register for classes online guide.
  • On the first day of class, once the instructor has given you permission to enroll, you will be able to register through InSite portal.
11th or 12th grade

Fall registration begins June 22nd

  • Make sure that you know your college student ID# and are able to login to InSite portal.
  • Submit your Special Admissions form online. See options below.
  • Log in to InSite portal and add the class to your student plan. For steps to add a class to your student plan go to our how do I register for classes online guide.
  • Log in to InSite portal and register for the class on the registration date you were assigned. If the class is full, you may be able to add yourself to a waitlist if available. Otherwise, contact the instructor of the class. Please refer to the schedule of classes and the directory if you need to locate contact information. If the instructor is taking additional students the instructor can authorize you to add on the first day of class and then you will be able to register through InSite portal.

 

Registration occurs on the first day of the class. 

  • Contact the instructor of the class ahead of time, this information will be listed in the schedule of classes.
  • Make sure that you have a college student ID# and are able to login to InSite portal. If you are under 13 please contact the Admissions and Records office for an application by email at admissions@dvc.edu.
  • If the instructor has space, they will need to authorize you to add the class and so they will need your student ID#. The instructor is the only one who can authorize a student to add once it begins. Please refer to the schedule of classes and the directory if you need to locate contact information.
  • Before the first day of the class, log in to the InSite portal and add the class to your student plan. For steps to add a class to your student plan go to our how do I register for classes online guide.
  • Once the instructor has authorized you, and on the first day of class you will be able to register through InSite portal.

How do I turn in my Special Admissions form? 

Please identify the contact person for your school, a list of contacts from our area high schools is provided below but if you do not see your high school or if you are below the high school grade level please reach out to your counselor or Principal for an email address of the person who can sign the form for you. 

You will need to enter:

  1. The email address and name of your school contact.
  2. Your parent/guardian name and email.
  3. The class you would like to enroll in.

You will need to log in using your InSite username and password to submit the form. When you are ready to submit please Submit form.

If you already have your form signed:

Please make sure that you have done the following:

  1. The Special Admissions form is completely filled out, including the Principal/Designee's signature and your parent/guardian signature.
  2. The class information is correct.

You will need to log in using your InSite username and password to submit the form. When you are ready to submit please Submit form.

Who do I contact at my high school?

If you do not see your high school or if you are below the high school grade level please reach out to your counselor or Principal for an email address of the person who can sign the form for you. In most circumstances it is your counselor that will be signing your form. 

Alhambra  High School

 Alhambra High School

Counselors


Matt Chamberlain (mchamberlain@martinez.k12.ca.us)- Principal

Ellen Coleman (ecoleman@martinezusd.net)

Martha Hummel (mhummel@martinezusd.net

California  High School

 www.calhigh.net

Counselors- Refer to the alphabet breakdown for your contact person


Becky Bellini (rbellini@srvusd.net) K/M/Q/X

Kim Denton (kdenton@srvusd.net): A/B/I/Y

Susie Fitch (sfitch@srvusd.net) N/P

Rachelle Goldenberg (rgoldenberg@srvusd.net) D/G/W

Erin Kellar-Hill (ekellar-hill@srvusd.net): F/H/R

Lisa Olson (lolson@srvusd.net): O/S/U

Jon Sawyer (jsawyer@srvusd.net) C/E/T/Z

Cheryl Youngberg (cyoungb@srvusd.net) J/L/V

Campolindo  High School

 www.acalanes.k12.ca.us/campolindo

Counselors


 Patrick Turner (pturner@auhsdschools.org): A-E

Duane Magno (dmagno@auhsdschools.org): F-LA

Amardeep Dhaliwal (adhaliwal@auhsdschools.org): LE-R

Jenna Wrobel (jwrobel@auhsdschools.org): S-Z

College Park  High School

 http://cphs.mdusd.org/

Counselors


Araceli Orozco (orozcoa@mdusd.net

Tamara Prosise (prosiset@mdusd.net) Lo-R

Lorena Soto (sotoll@mdusd.net)

Rebecca Woo (woor@mdusd.net)

 

Dougherty Valley  High School

 www.dvhigh.net

Counselors


Robyn Blackburn (rblackburn@srvusd.net)

Haley Hertz (hhertz@srvusd.net)

Carrie Fox (cfox@srvusd.net)

Meagan Sellers (msellers@srvusd.net)

Sarah Campbell (scampbell2@srvusd.net)

Rajni Nijjer (rnijjer@srvusd.net)

Jessica Coulson (jcoulson@srvusd.net

Miramonte  High School

 www.acalanes.k12.ca.us/miramonte

Counselors


 Rebecka Watson (rwatson@auhsdschools.org) A-Fly

Ellen Conners (econncers@auhsdschools.org) Fol-Lop

 Erika Vasquez (evasquez@auhsdschools.org) Lou-Sch

Sara Feinberg (sfeinberg@auhsdschools.org) Sco-Z

Monte Vista  High School

 https://mvhs.schoolloop.com/

Counselors


 Kristin Tegeler  ktegeler@srvusd.net

Janelle Mincy   jmincy@srvusd.net

Christina Byers cbyers@srvusd.net

Christy Brown   cbrown3@srvusd.net

Dave Solomon  dsolomon@srvusd.net

Rebecca Wiest  rwiest@srvusd.net

San Ramon Valley  High School

 https://srvhs.schoolloop.com/

Counselors


 Ms. Levy-Wendt (jlevy-wendt@srvusd.net) A-Dau

Ms. Conti (nconti@srvusd.net) Dav- Io

Ms. Isseks (oisseks@srvusd.net) Ip-Nar

Ms. Bergstedt (mbergstedt@srvusd.net) Nas-Sol

Ms. Drake (kdrake@srvusd.net) Som- Z

Venture Independent Study

 www.venture.srvusd.k12.ca.us

Counselors


 Alissa Kruse (akruse@srvusd.net)

Rose Bright- Principal (rbright@srvusd.net)

 

Helpful information for all grades

Prerequisites

Students should be aware of course prerequisite requirements as listed in the schedule of classes and catalog. Prerequisites cannot be waived. Please review our prerequisite procedure.

Physical education classes

Regardless of grade level, all PE courses must be added on or after the first day of the class and with the instructor’s signature on the special admissions recommendation form and schedule request form.

Home schooled students

Home schooled students must provide a copy of the affidavit each academic year for home schooling in addition to the special admissions recommendation form.

Fees

  • High school students are exempt from enrollment fees, but will be charged student union and materials fees.
  • High school students who are classified as non-resident students for tuition purposes may be eligible for the SB150 waiver of non-resident tuition while still in high school. Students must be special admit part-time (11 units or less) students who currently live in California and are attending high school in California.  Students wishing to take advantage of this exemption should complete a residency reclassification form and attach a copy of high school transcripts showing current enrollment.  Forms and attachments should be submitted to the Admissions and Records Office.
  • Students who are not California residents will be charged nonresident enrollment fees. Please note that AB540 status is not available to high school students (AB540 requires high school graduation).

Resources for success