News Hub

Communication Studies

Northern California Forensics Association first place overall champions

Feb 26, 2019

Over the last three years the DVC's speech and debate team (also known as forensics) has become the most dominant team in northern California. This last weekend the 40+ person team won their third consecutive NCFA Championship, crowning DVC the undisputed champions of NorCal.

The DVC community college communication studies students defeated students from UC Berkeley, the University of the Pacific and many other universities and community colleges. Not only did DVC win overall as a team by almost double the next closest team's score, but many individual students were named champions in their specific events.

speech and debate teamThe forensics team competes in a wide range of events, each emphasizing different communication and critical thinking skills, and displayed excellence across all of them. This northern California championship is also a great opportunity for alumni to come out to support the team.

Multiple alumni of the forensics team, across multiple eras of the teams illustrious history, helped serve as judges for the tournament and offer words of wisdom as the students head into competition.

Below is a list of the team's accomplishments from the NCFA Championship. Send your support to the team as they head off to State and Nationals, or consider joining the team next fall by enrolling on COMM 163 or emailing for more information.

DVC speech and debat teamDVC’s 2019 Northern California speech and debate winners:
First place overall champions (x3 Peat)

Overall Speaker
Second place: Nicole Sims
Student Fellowship Award Winner
First place: Nicole Sims

Open Duo Interpretation
First: Chris Pratt and Matt Denny
Second: Sydney Alexander And Nicole Sims
Third: Nicole Sims and Matt Denny
Fourth: Vegas Darst-Horn And Justin Crawford

Open Dramatic Interpretation
First: Nicole Sims
Second: Chris Pratt
Third: Justin Crawford
Fourth: Miranda Hansen

Open Informative Speaking
First: Cierra White

Open After Dinner Speaking
First: Nicole Sims

Open Persuasive Speaking
Fifth: Cierra White

Open Communication Analysis
Third: Miranda Hansen

Open Prose
Third: Miranda Hansen
Fifth: Vegas Darst-Horn

Open Program Oral Interpretation
Second: Sydney Alexander

Junior Varsity Parliamentary Debate
Third: Eric Tubbs and Gabriel Zimmerman

JV Parliamentary Debate Speaker
Second: Place Gabriel Zimmerman
Ninth: Place Eric Tubbs  

Novice Extemporaneous Speaking
First: Gabriel Zimmerman

Novice Program Oral Interpretation
First: La La Miller
Second: Elva Gonzales

Novice Persuasive Speaking
First: Anastasia Tejada
Second: Ariel Tonessi

Novice Informative Speaking
Second: Sarah Richards
Fourth: Haley Burr

Novice Prose Interpretation
Second: La La Miller
Third: Layla Keshavarz-Fard
Fifth: Yuya Shimbori

Novice Poetry Interpretation
Second: Paola Lopez