Staff Development Center

staff computer labPLEASE NOTE: While the Staff Development Center is currently closed under social distancing guidelines, remote help is available with the DE team and faculty leads.  Please check your DVC email for weekly sign-ups for one-on-one help via Zoom.

The Staff Development Center (AB-217) is divided into a lounge and lab that are both available as collaborative work spaces for staff.  Campus Map

The Lounge

The lounge has two large meeting tables for group discussions and smaller work spaces for individuals. While this space is primarily available for impromptu staff work and collaboration, you can reserve this space for your needs through 25Live.  (Max 21 people)  Looking for a space to meet with students?  For privacy reasons, faculty-student conferences are best held in faculty offices or by reserving a space in our Library Study Rooms.

The Lab

The lab is a work space with four Macs, nine PCs, a scanner, phone, and printer. (Limit 10 pages.  Please use the DVC Print Shop for larger jobs.)  The lab is always available for drop-in users, but the overhead projector and some computers can be reserved through 25Live for small work groups and trainings. If you have a Canvas or instructional technology-related question that isn’t covered by a flex workshop, book an appointment or stop by the lab during our drop-in hours.  


Fall/Spring hours - AB-217

(Note: closed due to social distancing guidelines.  Please see email for Zoom one-on-one appointments.)

Day Hours open Drop-in help
Monday 8 am -8 pm 10 am -4 pm
Tuesday 8 am -8 pm 9 am -4 pm
Wednesday 8 am -8 pm 2 pm -5 pm
Thursday 8 am -8 pm 10 am -4 pm
Fridays 8 am -5 pm  by appt.

Summer hours - AB-217 

(Note: closed due to social distancing guidelines.  Please see email for Zoom one-on-one appointments.)

Day Hours open Drop-in help
Monday 8 am -8 pm 11 am -4 pm
Tuesday 8 am -8 pm 10 am -3 pm
Wednesday 8 am -8 pm 10 am -3 pm
Thursday 8 am -8 pm closed
Fridays closed  closed

 SRC Instructors: Drop-in help is available on the San Ramon campus on the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of the month in W-152 from 9 am -12 pm.


 Contact us

Name Questions about Email 
Jeanette Peavler, Canvas Administrator Canvas, Respondus, third-party publisher LTI integration, course design jpeavler@dvc.edu 
Crystala Button, Technology Training & Development Coordinator general technology help, Zoom, Studio, FERPA, Canvas, course design cbutton@dvc.edu 
Kat King, Instructional Technologist, English Instructor Beginner's Guide to Teaching with Canvas, Proctorio, Hypothesis, Turnitin, course design, Peer Online Mentorship Program kking@dvc.edu 
Becky Wyler, Instructional Specialist, Biology Instructor STEM-focused instructional technologist, support for hard-to-convert lab courses bwyler@dvc.edu 
Marlene Storz, Instructional Specialist, Dental Hygiene Faculty STEM and CE-focused instructional technologist, support for hard-to-convert courses  mstorz@dvc.edu 
Mariano Resendiz, Instructional Specialist, Horticulture Instructor STEM and CE-focused instructional technologist, support for hard-to-convert courses  mresendiz@dvc.edu 
Anne Kingsley, DE Coordinator, English Faculty Becoming an Effective Online Instructor, Peer Online Mentorship Program, online programs akingsley@dvc.edu 
Kris Koblik, PD Coordinator, Art History Faculty general professional development, equitable teaching practices kkoblik@dvc.edu 
Jessica Martin, Program Coordinator coordination of PD trainings jmartin@dvc.edu