PUMA Center

The PUMA (Puente, Umoja, and MESA Achievement) Center is the home for three college access and success programs – Puente, Umoja, and MESA and was established in 2015. As a vibrant center, the PUMA Center serves students from underserved/underrepresented backgrounds by building and nurturing community through embracing and validating students' cultural identity and humanity, with an emphasis on holistic development, equity, and social justice. The Center focuses on interdisciplinary collaboration, integrating instruction and support services to address the students’ various needs, while fostering student leadership, providing mentoring, and raising cultural awareness. PUMA is a space that enables students to build community in order to achieve academic and career success, become empowered, and discover their full potential.

The PUMA Center offers PUMA students study rooms, computer labs, printing, tutoring, workshops, counseling and program coordinator and faculty office hours.

Hours of operation

Spring 2019 Hours: Monday - Thursday from 8:00am to 7:00pm and Friday from 8:00am to 4:00pm 
Please note: Diablo Valley College will be closed the following dates: Lincoln Day Holiday (February 15), Washington Day Holiday (February 18), and Spring Recess (April 1-7).

Events

For all of DVC's events, visit the College Events calendar

College Success Workshops

Spring 2019 College Success Workshop Schedule

Reserve your spot here

Services

Computer Lab

The PUMA Center offers PUMA students 8 computers for student use; 4 are located in the PUMA lounge and 4 are located in the hallway. Students are able to print using funds loaded onto their DVC ID card. The PUMA Center does not offer a value add station – the closest value add station is in the Library Commons (L-213). 

Transfer Support

UC Davis Transfer Opportunity Program (TOP) Coordinator, Renelle Johnson, will be holding appointments in the PUMA Center on Thursdays. Click here to schedule an appointment. Also, visit the College Reps Visit DVC's website to see all the college and university representatives that will be visiting DVC this semester.

Study Rooms

The PUMA Center offers study rooms for students who are part of the PUMA learning communities, Friends of MESA, and Friends of Umoja. We ask that you sign in on the sign-in sheet posted on the door before using a study room. 

Tutoring

Tutoring is available to support English reading and writing in any subject matter and different levels of math for PUMA students. For the Spring 2019 semester, tutoring will be available from February 11 through May 9 (tentative).

Location: PUMA Lounge
Tutors wear a green DVC lanyard.

Reading and Writing Tutoring
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday

 Jilliane
(Peer Tutor)
11am-1:30pm

Heidi
(English Instructor)
1:30-2:30pm

Phillip
(Peer Tutor)
2:30-4pm

Tijan
(Peer Tutor)
11am-12:45pm

Max
(Peer Tutor)
2-4:30pm

Tiffany
(Hourly Tutor)
1:15-2:30pm

Ethan
(Peer Tutor)
2:30-4:30pm

Tijan
(Peer Tutor)
11am-12:45pm

Max
(Peer Tutor)
2-4:30pm

                 Math Tutoring

Math Tutors can help with everything from Pre-Algebra through Calculus 2 (or 3 with Carly), except for Statistics. Clint Ryan can help with Statistics.

 

Monday Tuesday Wednesday   Thursday

 Yuvia
(Peer Tutor)
12:30-2pm

Carly
(Peer Tutor)
2-4pm

Adeola
(Peer Tutor)
11am-1pm

Carly
(Peer Tutor)
2-4pm

 

Yuvia
(Peer Tutor)
 12:30-2pm

 Adeola
 (Peer Tutor)
 11am-1pm

 Clint Ryan
(Math Instructor)
2:30-3:30pm

Staff and Faculty

Rosa Armendáriz

Dean of Student Engagement and Equity

rarmendariz@dvc.edu 925-969-2233
Kristina Gomez

Administrative Assistant III
Student Engagement and Equity

kgomez@dvc.edu 925-969-2236
Noha Basilious

Program Coordinator
Student Engagement and FYE

nbasilious@dvc.edu 925-969-3012
Patrick Talley

Administrative Assistant II
Puente, Umoja, and PUMA Center

ptalley@dvc.edu 925-969-2289
Stephany Ramos Lopez


Administrative Assistant II

sramos@dvc.edu 925-969-4320
Alberto Aranda

Counselor
General/Veterans

aaranda@dvc.edu 925-969-3015
Maria Dorado

Coordinator and Counselor
Puente Program

mdorado@dvc.edu 925-969-2560
Anthony Gonzales

Coordinator and English Instructor
Puente Program

agonzales@dvc.edu 925-969-2422
Justin Wembes

Counselor/Instructor
Puente Program

jwembes@dvc.edu  925-969-2159
Patrick Leong

Coordinator and Instructor
Puente Program

pleong@dvc.edu 925-969-2406
Yvonne Canada-Clarke

Coordinator and Counselor/Instructor
Umoja Program

ycanada@dvc.edu 925-969-2283
Carmen McNeil

Coordinator and Instructor
Umoja Program

cmcneil@dvc.edu 925-969-2437
Eric Handy

Counselor
Umoja Program

ehandy@dvc.edu 925-969-2167
Clarice Adams

Program Assistant
MESA Program

cadams@dvc.edu 925-969-2234
Maitreyee Chandra

Program Director
MESA Program

mchandra@dvc.edu 925-969-4319
Danielle Odom

Counselor
MESA Program

dodom@dvc.edu 925-969-4321

PUMA Student Leaders            

Other Resources

  • The DVC library offers study room reservations, research help face-to-face and IM chat, a textbook loan program (click here to see if the library has the textbook you need), and laptop/phone charger loan program. See the library Circulation and Reserve desk for more information. 
  • The DVC Student Life Office offers no time limit study room reservations. Reservations are made on a drop-in basis with your student ID at the front desk. Student Life also offers pay-for-print services and fax services. 

Contact the PUMA Center

Telephone:   925-969-4320
PUMA Center's location: Learning Communities Annex (LCA) campus map
Instagram Logo @DVCPuma