News Hub

free tuition, Press Release

Contra Costa Community College District Expands Free Tuition Program

Aug 31, 2023

MARTINEZ, California – The Contra Costa Community College District (4CD) has announced changes to its Full-time Free Tuition Program for Contra Costa College (CCC), Diablo Valley College (DVC) and Los Medanos College (LMC) students beginning the fall 2023 semester. The expansion of this free tuition program, formerly known as FT3, removes the previous requirement that participants must be a first-time student, and opens the door to full-time students who have previously taken college courses or even completed a degree.

To receive free tuition for up to two academic years, CCC, DVC, and LMC students must meet the following requirements:

  • Complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or California Dream Act Application (CADA) for the current academic year;
  • Enroll in a minimum of 12 units; and
  • Be a California resident or otherwise exempt from paying non-resident tuition fees.

Students are not required to qualify for financial aid, demonstrate financial need or meet any income requirements. Although the Full-time Free Tuition Program waives the $46 per unit enrollment/tuition fees at 4CD colleges, participating students are still responsible to pay for other expenses such as books, supplies, and materials fees required by their classes.

“We are very excited to expand the Full-time Free Tuition Program to students who have previously attended college”, said Interim Chancellor Mojdeh Mehdizadeh. “This cost-saving option provides the financial incentive returning full-time students may need to achieve their higher education objectives with us.”

Timothy Leong
Director of Communications and Community Relations
(925) 229-6823

Learn more about 4CD’s Full-time Free Tuition Program.


The Contra Costa Community College District (4CD) is one of the largest multi-college community college districts in California. The 4CD serves 1.2 million residents, and its boundaries encompass all but 48 of the 734-square-mile land area of Contra Costa County. 4CD is home to Contra Costa College in San Pablo, Diablo Valley College with campuses in Pleasant Hill and San Ramon, and Los Medanos College with campuses in Pittsburg and Brentwood. The District headquarters is located in downtown Martinez.

Each college is individually accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges. For more information visit